The dreaded Plateau

Let me start off by saying I HATE dieting and working out! BUT I HATE being overweight even more!

I have really struggled with losing weight. I’ve been on a low-calorie diet for 11 days now and let me tell you, it has been anything but easy for me. I’m used to giving in and then feeling guilty and starting up the next day (I already screwed up, might as well start tomorrow right?), but there comes a point where even I get tired of my own antics. I’ve been longing for a slice of cheesy pepperoni and pineapple pizza, a strong sugary mocha pearl drink with that whip cream only a coffee house can give you (pearl drink=vietnamase coffee with tapioca balls), a hoho (need I say more?), chocolate covered strawberries (mmm) and a nice bag of cool ranch Doritos! But the guilt of knowing how many calories are in those delicious foods is enough to drive away that craving (thanks to counting my calories, I am SUPER aware of how much im putting in).
Even with my willpower slowly on the uprise, I am honestly STILL a little down on myself. Yesterday at training, I weighed in and still was at 140!! WTF I’ve been eating great and exercising, obviously that scale must be wrong! That’s when i realized that sometimes if you really want something, you gotta really (and I mean REALLY) dig deep inside yourself for it! Don’t let the scale discourage you (trust me, I wanted to give up right then and there!).

You know what I did after realizing my body has hit a major plateau(noooo, I will never let go of this fat!!)? I went to the store, got some low-fat yogurt (great for belly fat burning, throw it in the blender with some ice a protein shake and some fruit) and some apples to snack on. Then I came home, ate an apple with peanut butter for dinner (despite the fact that I was starving!) and did Round 1 of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred. The only thing I could think of during that work out was EFF you Jillian!! My legs were numb, my arms were burning and my abs were tangled into a knot. I pushed and pushed and finally Jillian said, you just finished round 1! Perseverance paid off! I’ve decided to add the 30 day shred to my daily workout routine. Now it will be an hour of boxing and the 20 minute workout with Jillian Michaels. Let’s see what this does for me!

I’d advise you to go pick up a copy of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred (about $10 at Wal-Mart and Target) and some light hand weights (mine are 3 lbs each and I am sore this morning). This workout had me sweating buckets (and nearly crying as well).

If you have noticed you are in a rut with your weight loss (known as a plateau in the weight loss world), kick it up a notch (or two!). DON’T give up girl! This is the point where your body has gotten used to what you are doing, and it is ready for a little umph. Do an extra set of reps, minimize one portion of a meal and up your water intake. If you can, run a mile or even just an extra lap around the track. Keep your mindset on the goal, don’t lose sight of it just because you haven’t seen a drop on the scale. Unfortunately, some plateaus can even last a week or two (push harder to speed it up!). Make sure to get enough sleep, if you don’t your body will try to hold onto its energy sources and you will struggle to lose the weight. Getting down to a goal weight is definitely not easy, but it sure as hell isn’t impossible either! Your hard work WILL pay off!!

If you are having trouble staying loyal to your diet and exercise regime, just remember

NOTHING TASTES AS GOOD AS BEING THIN FEELS!!!

This entry was posted in Looks, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment